Helping Adelphi gain Momentum and stay on mission. Adelphi is a private institution governed by a Board of Trustees, which is composed of business, public service, education and community leaders who care deeply about Adelphi; nearly 80% of them are alumni. Our board reflects the gender and cultural diversity of Adelphi itself; our belief in the importance of diversity is evident at the highest levels of leadership.

Through their service on nine standing committees, these trustees play a crucial role in ensuring Adelphi continues to provide a transformative education.

University Leadership: Where the Board Fits In

The Board of Trustees delegates operational authority to the president as the University’s chief executive officer. This responsibility comes with expectations of transparency, accountability, performance, collaboration and service as the face and voice of Adelphi. The president and an executive team of leaders work together to establish and achieve institutional priorities. This organizational structure provides continuous review of progress against goals, facilitating data-driven decision making.

Meet Our Board

Adelphi’s president serves as an ex officio member of the board and, along with the chair, is a member of all committees. Additionally, because the student voice matters in these high-level planning processes, nonvoting students—representatives of the Student Government Association—serve on the board’s Academic Affairs/Student Life Committee.


Ronald B. Lee, BA ’67

Chair, Board of Trustees
Founder and Chair Emeritus

Lee, Nolan and Koroghlian, LLC

Susan Murphy, PhD

Vice-Chair, Board of Trustees
Vice President Emerita
Cornell University

Marc S. Strachan, BBA ’81

Vice-Chair, Board of Trustees

Lois C. Schlissel, JD

Secretary, Board of Trustees
Secretary of Board of Trustees
Of Counsel
Meyer, Suozzi, English & Klein, P.C.

Christine M. Riordan, PhD

Adelphi University

Meet Our President


Leonard C. Achan, BS ’99, MA, RN, ANP

President, Innovation Institute
Hospital for Special Surgery

Michael A. L. Balboni, BS ’81

President and Managing Director
Redland Strategies, Inc.

Loretta Cangialosi, BBA ’80

Retired Senior Vice President and Controller
Pfizer, Inc.

William Fuessler, BBA ’79

Partner and Vice President, Global Leader, Finance, Risk and Fraud
IBM Global Business Services

Charles Fuschillo, BBA ’83

President and CEO
Alzheimer’s Foundation of America

Suhit Gupta, BS ’00

Senior Vice President, Chief Information Officer   
General Atlantic

Dottie Herman

Douglas Elliman Real Estate LLC

Steve Jones, BA ’89 

President and Chief Operating Officer
Skyview Networks

Laurence Kessler, BA ’65

Founder and Co-owner
Kessler Restaurants

Tomislav Kostadinov, BBA, BS ’10

Vice President
Goldman Sachs

Emily Ladau, BA ’13

Words I Wheel By Disability Communications

Dennis McDonagh, BA ’78

Retired Senior Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer, Real Estate
The Blackstone Group

Curtis O. Minnis, BA ’77 

Retired Managing Director of Global Sales

Monika Mohacsi, BS ’14, BS

Jaros Baum & Bolles

Sylvia Moss, BA ’64

Retired Senior Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer
The Park Hill Group, The Blackstone Group

Carmen M. Ortiz, BBA ’78, JD, LLD ’12 (Hon.)

Anderson & Kreiger LLP

Hilda Perez, BA ’11

COO and Vice President
Salud by Dr. Rigo

Humera Qazi, BBA ’93, MBA

Managing Director
Morgan Stanley

Paul Salerno, BBA ’76

Retired Managing Partner, Melville Office
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Michael J. Tiedemann, BBA ’89

Managing Director
Wells Fargo Securities

Joseph Westphal, BA ’70, PhD

Ambassador (R)
Chang Sun Professor

Joseph H. Lauder Institute of Management and International Studies
Senior Fellow
The Leadership Center
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

Chair Emeriti

Michael J. Campbell, BA ’65

Chair Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Retired Chair
Dominick & Dominick | Division of Wunderlich Wealth Management

Steven N. Fischer

Chair Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Former Chair and Chief Executive Officer
Mechanical Technology Inc.

Steven L. Isenberg, DHL ’00 (Hon.)

Chair Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Former Publisher

New York Newsday

Thomas F. Motamed, BA ’71, JD

Chair Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Retired Chair and Chief Executive Officer
CNA Financial Corporation

Robert B. Willumstad, LLD ’05 (Hon)

Chair Emeritus, Board of Trustees
Brysam Global Partners

Trustee Emeriti

  • Frank Angello, BBA ’77, MBA
  • Richard C. Cahn, JD
  • Joan S. Girgus, PhD
  • Jeffrey R. Greene, MBA
  • Palmina R. Grella, MBA ’73
  • Gerry House, EdD
  • Angela M. Jaggar, BS ’62, MA ’65, PhD
  • Michael L. Lazarus, BBA ’67
  • Lindsey Kupferman Levine, MA ’02, PhD ’06
  • Leon M. Pollack, BA ’63
  • Helene Sullivan, BBA’79
  • Barry T. Zeman

Meeting Schedule

  • Monday, March 15, 2021
  • Friday, June 11, 2021
  • Monday, October 4, 2021
  • Monday, December 13, 2021
  • Monday, March 7, 2022
  • Friday, June 3, 2022 
  • Monday, October 3, 2022 
  • Monday, December 12, 2022

Related Links

Meet more of our campus leaders.

Phone Number
Levermore Hall, 100
Search Menu