Six students of different genders and ethnicities smile facing the camera. There are brown and gold balloons on the left and they stand in front of a gold background with the words “Adelphi University.”
Students representing the winning Organizations of Excellence at the 2024 Brown and Gold Awards.

In their annual ceremony, the University recognized those committed to pursuing excellence at Adelphi.

Every year, Adelphi honors students, faculty, clubs and organizations for their contributions to campus and community at the annual Brown and Gold Awards.

Joe Sawma, president of the Student Government Association, presented the opening remarks at this year’s ceremony on May 6. “Throughout my years at Adelphi,” he said, “I am constantly impressed by the passion and commitment we see on a daily basis by our students, faculty and staff.”

In his welcome remarks, R. Sentwali Bakari, PhD, vice president for student affairs and diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging, said, “I am truly in awe at the dedication, passion and transformation that takes place among our student leaders. While we can only recognize a limited few, it does not diminish the spirit, collaboration and great efforts put forth by so many others to make Adelphi the fantastic place that it is.”

After the President’s Student Leadership Awards were presented, the following awards were given.

Individual Student Awards

  • Excellence in Service: Jessica Dia
  • Excellence in Social Justice: Carolena Vical
  • Best Senator: Errah Fawad
  • Senator Serving a Greater Audience: Nairi Vartanian, Maci Bell
  • Officer of the Year: Jordan Rivas
  • President of the Year: Ashley Peralta
  • Outstanding President: Jolisa Lynch
  • Outstanding Commuter Student: Ashley Peralta
  • Outstanding Transfer Student: Angelina Vella
  • Panther Pride: Grace Wayar
  • Emerging Leader: Asmaa Zahran, Joanna Jordan
  • Established Student Leader: Sarah Joy Gallardo, Jolisa Lynch
  • Student Leader of the Year: Adam Ayroso

Student Organization Awards

  • Excellence in Philanthropy: Student Appreciation and Recognition of Adelphi Pinoys
  • Beyond Adelphi: Circle K
  • Excellence in Recruitment: South East Asian Society
  • Excellence in Marketing: Biology Club
  • Excellence in Programming: Black Students United
  • Excellence in Collaboration: South Asian Student Association
  • Commitment to Organizational Growth: Creative Writing Club
  • Outstanding Organization Management: Black Students United
  • Student Organization of the Year: Black Students United

Outstanding Organizations

  • Accounting Society
  • Active Minds
  • Adelphi Christian Fellowship
  • Artivism
  • Adelphi University Student Nurses Association (AUSNA)
  • Circle K
  • Criminal Justice Club
  • Future Teachers Association
  • Gender and Sexuality Alliance
  • Hillel
  • Korean Entertainment and Culture Club
  • Physics Club
  • Student Activities Board

Organizations of Excellence

  • Black Students United
  • Commuter Student Organization
  • Creative Writing Club
  • Psychology Club
  • Student Appreciation and Recognition of Adelphi Pinoys (SARAP)
  • Society of East Asian Students

Faculty Awards

  • Professor of the Year: Berin Aptoula, MFA ’22, adjunct professor, English
  • Adviser of the Year: Associate Professor Rakesh Gupta, Robert B. Willumstad School of Business, adviser of the South Asian Student Association
  • Commitment to Student Life: Linda Gundrum, director of recreation and intramural sports, and Jennifer Schirmacher, resident district manager for Dining Services
Phone Number
More Info
Levermore Hall, 205
Search Menu