The Department of Political Science awards seniors for their hard work and dedication.

Jacqueline Condon with Professor Laatikainen

Robert J. Johnson Prize for Best Political Science Paper

Every year the Political Science Department awards the Johnson Prize for the Best Paper in Political Science. The paper must have been submitted in a political science course within the previous three semesters and received a grade of “A.” Students may enter more than one paper.

Self or peer nomination
Award: monetary
Past Award Recipient:
2018: Katelyn Corwin
2017: Jacque Condon

Kindeya Chiaro with Professor Levy

Hugh A. Wilson Award for Social and Economic Justice

The Hugh A. Wilson Award recognizes a senior Political Science major for activism in the areas of social and economic justice. The selection criteria are activities that serve the public interest, traditionally vulnerable groups, and social and economic equality.

Award: monetary
Past Award Recipient:
2017: Kindeya Chiaro

Luke Colle (left), and Katelyn Corwin (center) with Professor Gray

W. Grafton Nealley Award for Excellence in Political Science

The department bestows the W. Grafton Nealley Award for Excellence in Political Science to its most outstanding senior. A committee of faculty members evaluates potential award recipients, taking into consideration factors such as grade point average in political science, the number and difficulty of courses taken, and improvement
over time.

Students are nominated by the Political Science faculty.
Award: monetary and a book. The recipient’s name is displayed on a
plaque in the department office.
Past Award Recipient:
2018: Luke Colle and Katelyn Corwin
2017: Kindeya Chiaro

Congratulations to political science majors who graduated in December 2018, or are expected to graduate May or August 2019, with departmental honors:

Julie Aberasturi, Taylor Klein, Michael Salvatore, Joseph Wales, Antonette White and Edward Wilkowski

For further information, please contact:

Department of Political Science
Blodgett Hall Room 202
p – 516.877.4590

Phone Number
More Info
Levermore Hall, 205
Search Menu