Highlighting the achievements of our language students.

pi delta phi

Pi Delta Phi Inductees in their French Stateliness

On Friday, April 25, 2015, we held our Departmental Honors Ceremony. The ceremony was opened with a wonderful performance on the lute by student Ryan Closs. Twenty-four Adelphi students were inducted into one of three Honor Societies: Pi Delta Phi (French), Gamma Kappa Alpha (Italian), and Sigma Delta Pi (Spanish). Dr. Amador opened the ceremony after which the Dean of the Arts and Sciences, Dr. Sam Grogg, shared a few words of inspiration. We were also delighted to have with us two benefactors of generous scholarships for our students: Mr. Robert Hartmann, alumnus; and Professor David Prottas.

The following students were inducted into honor societies:

French Honor Society, Pi Delta Phi: Chioma Chuks-Okeke, Egan Colbert, Ashley Corbeil, Ashari Edwards, Grace Ewing, Sean Gaynor, Freddy Huitzil, Ioanna Ioannides, Ben Nichols, Collin Savage, Erica White (inducted by Profs. Rudolph & Wadhera)

gamma kappa alpha

Happy Gamma Kappa Alpha Inductees

Italian Honor Society, Gamma Kappa Alpha: Diana Malizia, Marissa Marinucci (inducted by Prof. Hiller)

Spanish Honor Society, Sigma Delta Pi: Euli Abreu, Diana Archibala, Olivia Autry, Brianna Callejas, Declan Hart, Victoria Hawkins, Britney Hernandez, Lauren Jacobson, Taylor Langston, Leela Riquelme, Briana Rubenstein.

Scholarships were awarded to the following outstanding students:

Smalley Fellowship in Italian Studies: Diana Malizia

Mary Louise Vazquez Awards in French: Sean Gaynor & Collin Savage

The Robert Hartmann Scholarship for Excellence in Spanish: Jessenia González

We were also delighted to present awards to several outstanding students:

sigma delta pi

Sigma Delta Pi Inductees, Lighting the Candle of Wisdom

Ruth Richardson Awards for Excellence in Spanish: Euli Abreu, Diana Arichabala, Olivia Autry, Brianna Callejas, Declan Hart, Victoria Hawkins, Britney Hernández, Lauren Jacobson, Taylor Langston, Leela Riquelme, Brianna Rubenstein, Christopher Weihs

Dolores Roethel Awards in Spanish Literature: Diana Arichabala, Victoria Hawkins

Prottas French Writing Contest : 1st: Sebastián Zapata; 2nd: Sean Gaynor; 3rd: Chioma Chuks-Okeke

Prottas Italian Writing Contest : 1st: Mary DeMaio

Prottas Spanish Writing Contest: 1st: Pedro Izquierdo 2nd: Pia Steffes & Rong Zeng; 3rd: Declan Hart & Shivm Shah

We continued a tradition with another vocal performance at the ceremony by our own Professor Hiller on the piano. This year, we heard Vincenzo Bellini’s romantic ballad “Ah, rendi pur contento.”

For further information, please contact:

Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Alumnae Hall
p – 516.877.4050

Phone Number
More Info
Levermore Hall, 205
Search Menu