This distinguished social work educator receives the prestigious Richard Lodge Prize.

The Adelphi University School of Social Work is proud to announce that Michael Sherraden, Ph.D., has been selected to receive the 2015 Richard Lodge Prize. He will be awarded the prize on Friday, May 8, 2015, at the School of Social Work’s annual Alumni and Friends Day, where he will deliver the keynote address.

“The Lodge Prize honors social work educators for their outstanding contributions to the profession through the development of social work theory and practice,” said Andrew Safyer, Ph.D., dean of the School of Social Work. “Dr. Sherraden was chosen for his record of scholarship, his pioneering work on asset building in addressing poverty, family and community development, and his transformative contributions to social policy and social work practice both domestically and internationally.”

Dr. Sherraden’s research and publications have received widespread recognition for testing innovations and impacts on public policy. He is the George Warren Brown Distinguished University Professor at Washington University in St. Louis and the founding director of its Center for Social Development.

In 2010, Time magazine recognized Dr. Sherraden’s work by naming him one of their 100 Most Influential People in the World. He shared space on the list with Bill Clinton, Edna Foa, Ph.D., Steve Jobs, Banksy, Elton John, Prince, Barack Obama and Lady Gaga, among others. The magazine noted Dr. Sherraden’s groundbreaking work on the vital role of assets—not just income—in overcoming poverty. In other words, without savings accounts, insurance and the means to protect what one has earned, low- to moderate-income people worldwide will not have the ability to weather economic downturns.

The Lodge Prize is named for the late Richard Lodge, Ph.D., who was a leading social work educator and Adelphi University professor. Dr. Lodge had a distinguished career that included service as executive director of the Council on Social Work Education, dean of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Social Work and professor at the University of Pennsylvania.

Past recipients of the Richard Lodge Prize include:

  • Lorraine Gutiérrez, University of Michigan (2013)
  • Susan Kemp, University of Washington (2011)
  • Sarah Gehlert, Washington University in St. Louis (2009)
  • Marsha Mailick Seltzer, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2006)
  • Sharon Berlin, University of Chicago (2002)
  • Lawrence Shulman, School of Social Work, University at Buffalo, SUNY (1999)
  • Dennis Saleebey and Dr. Ann Weick, University of Kansas (1995)
  • Hans S. Falck, Virginia Commonwealth University (1993)
  • Howard Goldstein, Case Western Reserve University (1991)
  • Carel Germain, University of Connecticut School of Social Work (1989)
  • William E. Gordon, Washington University in St. Louis (1987)

For further information, please contact:

Todd Wilson
Strategic Communications Director 
p – 516.237.8634
e –

Phone Number
More Info
Levermore Hall, 205
Search Menu