President Christine M. Riordan with Miguel Velasquez, recipient of the 2023 President's Student Leadership Award

For the past 20 years, Adelphi has honored students, student organizations and faculty members who have made a commitment to pursue excellence in their various endeavors.

On May 9, faculty, students and administrators gathered to celebrate student and faculty excellence at the annual Brown and Gold Awards ceremony.

Tyler Masure, Student Government Association president, kicked off the event with opening remarks. “Throughout my years at Adelphi, I am constantly impressed by the passion and commitment we see on a daily basis by our students, faculty and staff,” he said.

Sentwali S. Bakari, PhD, vice president for student affairs, in his welcome remarks following Masure’s, said, “The name Brown and Gold symbolizes the Adelphi pride that we share and foster as a community. … You should all be proud of the accomplishments you achieve and the unwavering commitment and vested interest you have in bettering the overall Adelphi experience.”

Dr. Bakari was followed by President Christine M. Riordan, who presented the President’s Student Leadership Awards.

Awards were then presented to individual students, student organizations and faculty members who served in student advisory roles.

Individual Student Awards

  • President’s Student Leadership Award: Miguel Velasquez
  • President’s Student Leadership Award: Jende Uy, Melissa Garber,¬†Aarsha Raghavan
  • Excellence in Service: Melanie Gomez
  • Excellence in Social Justice: Mylo Fisherman
  • Best Student Government Senator: Erica Gibson
  • Senator Serving a Greater Audience: Ian Escobar
  • Officer of the Year: Ana Martinez
  • President of the Year: Katie Chen
  • Outstanding President: Kelly Andreuzzi, Nicolette Macchio
  • Outstanding Commuter Student: Matthew Van Praagh, Dilpreet Kaur
  • Outstanding Transfer Student: Tatiana Cancinos
  • Panther Pride: Jende Uy
  • Emerging Leader: Joe Sawma, Erica Gibson
  • Established Leader: Miguel Velasquez, Mylo Fisherman, Tyler Masure
  • Student Leader of the Year: Jonay Jackson

Student Organization Awards

  • Excellence in Philanthropy: National Student Speech Language Hearing Association
  • Beyond Adelphi: Environmental Action Coalition
  • Excellence in Recruitment: Psychology Club
  • Excellence in Marketing: Commuter Student Organization
  • Excellence in Programming: Students Beyond the Binary
  • Excellence in Collaboration: South Asian Student Association
  • Commitment to Organizational Growth: National Student Speech Language Hearing Association
  • Outstanding Organization Management: Adelphi Christian Fellowship
  • Keeping the Spirit Alive: Black Students United
  • Student Organization of the Year: Commuter Student Organization; Environmental Action Coalition

Faculty Awards

  • Professor of the Year: Stephanie Lake, PhD, director, criminal justice program
  • Adviser of the Year: Sandra Castro, PhD, associate dean, College of Professional and Continuing Studies, and Latino Student Association adviser
  • Commitment to Student Life: Amanda Ashe, program coordinator, Bridges to Adelphi; Chotsani Williams West, MA ’07, executive director of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging; Ashley Veltri, assistant director of residential life and housing for assessment and student success
Phone Number
More Info
Levermore Hall, 205
Search Menu