At this year’s ceremony, more than 100 students and clubs were recognized for their achievements.

Adelphi University’s Brown and Gold Awards Ceremony, hosted by the Center for Student Involvement (CSI), has become a popular annual tradition. Students, student clubs, faculty and administrators are recognized for excellence in leadership, campus involvement and teaching and advising.

At this year’s ceremony, more than 100 students and clubs were recognized for their achievements.


The May 2016 award winners included:

Student Recognition

President Student Leadership Award
Given by the president to seniors for extraordinary achievement and leadership on campus

  • Malik Clarke, Management major
  • Ani Djirdjirian, Social Work and Music major
  • Fallon Kane, Clinical Psychology major
  • Lisa Marino, Environmental Studies major

Emerging Leader Award

  • Ethan Bravin, Nursing and Nicole Zisa, Exercise Science major
  • Established Leader Award
  • Tristan Baharally, Psychology major
  • Georgia Linaris, Music major
  • Student Leader of the Year Award
  • Danielle Schmal, Finance and Mathematics major

Faculty Recognition

Professor of the Year Award
Nominated and elected by the Adelphi student body.

  • Robert Bornstein, Ph.D., Professor, Gordon F. Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies

Advisor of the Year Award

  • Mary Jean McCarthy, Clinical Assistant Professor, Ruth S. Ammon School of Education

Commitment to Student Life Award

  • Joyce Li, Operations Manager, Auxiliary Services
  • Carol Lucas, Ph.D., Director, Counseling and Support Services


For further information, please contact:

Todd Wilson
Strategic Communications Director 
p – 516.237.8634
e –

Phone Number
More Info
Levermore Hall, 205
Search Menu