Date & Time: October 28 9:00am – 6:00pm
Location: Ruth S. Harley University Center Ballroom

An International Celebration of the Academic Career and Contributions of Dean Jacques P. Barber, PhD, ABPP.

Please join us as we celebrate the contributions of Derner’s sixth dean, Jacques Barber, PhD, ABPP, to the Gordon F. Derner School of Psychology, Adelphi—and the field of clinical psychology at large.

Dean Barber

The event will take place at the Ruth S. Harley University Center Ballroom at Adelphi University from 9:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m. There will be a reception afterward.

Please RSVP by October 14. 

So, what’s a festschrift

A festschrift is a pre-World War I concept that originated in Germany honoring special achievements of an individual in the sciences or the arts.

Dr. Barber has no shortage of achievements to celebrate—Festschrift provides us the opportunity to celebrate these myriad achievements.

About Former Dean Jacques Barber, PhD, ABPP

Jacques Barber

He is internationally known for his research on the efficacy of psychotherapy in treating depression, panic disorders, personality disorders, cocaine dependence and interpersonal problems.

He has published more than 290 papers, chapters and books, including Psychodynamic Therapy: A Guide to Evidence-Based Practice, which he coauthored with Richard F. Summers, MD, of the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, and Practicing Psychodynamic Therapy: A Casebook, co-edited with Dr. Summers. He and his Adelphi colleague J. Christopher Muran, PhD, professor and interim dean while Dr. Barber was on sabbatical, collaborated on a revised psychodynamic therapy research chapter in Bergin and Garfield’s Handbook of Psychotherapy and Behavior Change (7th Edition, Wiley 2021), considered “the bible of psychotherapy.”

Dr. Barber has won numerous awards for his scholarship. In addition to the Distinguished Career Research Award from the Society for Psychoanalysis and Psychoanalytic Psychology, Division 39 of the American Psychological Association (APA), he has received two honors from the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy, Division 29 of the APA: the Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentorship Award as well as the Distinguished Psychologist Award for Contributions to Psychology and Psychotherapy. He is past president of the international Society for Psychotherapy Research and was a recipient of its early career award in 1996 and its Distinguished Research Career Award in 2014.

This is in addition to serving as the dean of the Gordon F. Derner School of Psychology for 12 years. During this time, the school transitioned from an institute, mainly serving the doctoral and postdoctoral programs, to a school-based model, which encompasses undergraduate and graduate programs in psychology.

Through various initiatives and innovations, he helped usher the Derner school into the twenty-first century and advance its position as an integrative, empirically informed school of psychology with a long psychoanalytic tradition and commitment to social justice.

Reflections and Presentations from Colleagues and Former Students

Event Program

Time Activity
9:00am – 9:30am Light Breakfast & Gathering
9:30am – 10:00am Opening Remarks
10:00am – 11:15am

What Makes Psychotherapy Work? Dr. Barber’s Contributions to the Processes of Therapeutic Change and the Working Alliance

Formal 10 minute presentations by Chris Muran, Robert DeRubeis, Ricky Dinger, Nili Solomonov, Louis Castonguay, Sigal Zilcha-Mano

11:15am – 11:30am Break
11:30am – 12:45pm

Building Relationships in Research and Beyond: The Development and Leadership of an International Scientific Community

Roundtable discussion with Louis Castonguay, Hadas Wiseman, Gaby Shefler, Bob Bornstein, Annika Lindgren

12:45pm – 1:45pm Lunch
1:45pm – 3:00pm

Innovations in Psychodynamic Therapies: Research and Clinical Advancements

Formal 10 minute presentations by Kirkland Vaughans, Rick Summers, Bernhard Strauss, Hadas Wiseman, Ellen Driessen

3:00pm – 3:15pm Break
3:15pm – 4:30pm

Training the Next Generation of Clinicians and Researchers

Roundtable discussion with Ricky Dinger, Nili Solomonov, Kevin McCarthy, Sigal Zilcha-Mano, Brian Sharpless, Katie Aafjes van-Doorn

4:30pm – 5:30pm Open floor for audience remarks
5:30pm – 6:00pm Closing remarks by Jacques Barber
6:00pm – 8:30pm Reception

For any questions about the event, please contact Frankie Mandracchia, Executive Assistant to the Dean at

Search Menu