

## **Excellence in Faculty Scholarship and Creative Work Award**

The **Excellence in Faculty Scholarship and Creative Work Award**, presented annually, gives recognition to a member of the Adelphi faculty who has achieved a record of outstanding scholarship and/or creative activity. The award carries a prize of \$5000, and the name of the recipient will be inscribed on a plaque that will be on display in the President's Suite.

## **Eligibility**

Candidates for the award must be full-time tenured, tenure-track, lecturers, or clinical faculty and have been full-time at Adelphi for a minimum of five years. The award recipient will serve on the selection committee for the subsequent three years. Recipients of the *Excellence in Faculty Scholarship and Creative Work Award* will not be eligible for re-nomination again for five years.

## Criteria

Nominees for the award must have demonstrated a record of consistent and outstanding scholarship and/or creative work while at Adelphi. Such distinction can be evidenced through a variety of activities accomplished in the last five years at Adelphi through one or more of the following:

- a sustained record of published research in peer-reviewed journals or venues in the discipline; in research monographs; in an authored or co-authored book;
- presentations at prestigious national and international peer-reviewed conferences;
- excellence in artistic activity appropriate for the nominee's discipline such as: recognized
  major performances, musical and dance compositions, and films and video productions;
  commissions secured for creative work; solo, invitational, or juried exhibitions at national
  or international venues; or works of published creative writing;
- significant grants awarded;
- important patents or inventions;
- notable and extensive citation of work.

## <u>Application Process</u>

Faculty candidates may be nominated by faculty or academic administrators at Adelphi, or self-nominated. The "Call for Nominations" will be announced via email and campus media.

A letter of nomination must be submitted. The letter should be signed by at least two additional full-time Adelphi faculty and/or administrators in support of the nomination. Email submissions are accepted. However, separate emails must be sent in support of the nomination. All emails should be sent to Sharon Faranda at <a href="mailto:faranda@adelphi.edu">faranda@adelphi.edu</a>. The letter of recommendation should describe and include examples of the continuity and distinction of the scholarship and/or creative work.

A committee of nine faculty (one from each of the professional schools and the Library and three from the broad areas of the College of Arts and Sciences) will receive and review the nominations. The award recipient will serve on the selection committee for the subsequent three years. He/she will not be eligible for re-nomination again for five years.

The committee will notify faculty nominees of their nomination. The nominee will be required to submit: (1) a current curriculum vitae; (2) a statement describing the location, impact, and prestige of the work; (3) evidence of disciplinary, national, or international recognition of the work; and, (4) a letter of support from the dean of the unit in which the nominee is appointed. When possible, materials should be submitted electronically.

The deadline for nominations is February 22, 2019. The Provost's Office will notify faculty that they have been nominated for the *Excellence in Faculty Scholarship and Creative Work Award*. Once notified, faculty nominees have until March 22, 2019 to forward supporting material to the Committee.

Awards will be announced at the last Faculty Meeting of the academic year.

Nominations and supporting material should be submitted electronically to Sharon Faranda at <a href="mailto:faranda@adelphi.edu">faranda@adelphi.edu</a> with the name of the award and the candidates' name in the subject line, or in paper to the <a href="mailto:Excellence in Faculty Scholarship">Excellence in Faculty Scholarship and Creative Work Award</a>, c/o the Office of the Provost- Levermore 108.