Faculty Senate Committee

Faculty Awards

Excellence in Faculty Service Award

The Excellence in Faculty Service Award, presented annually, gives recognition to a member of the Adelphi faculty who has established a record of consistent and outstanding service to the University community, the external community, and/or discipline or profession.  The award carries a prize of $5000, and names of winners will be inscribed on a plaque that will be on display in the President’s Suite. 

Candidates for the award must be full-time tenured, tenure-track, lecturers, or clinical faculty and have been full-time at Adelphi for a minimum of five years.  Recipients of the Excellence in Faculty Service Award will not be eligible for re-nomination for five years.

Nominees for the award must have demonstrated consistent and exceptional service while at Adelphi with evidence of positive outcomes.  The service may be in one or more of the following arenas:
  • At the University -- including exhibiting exceptional leadership in faculty governance, on University committees and councils, serving in an advising capacity to student organizations or committees, and participating in the recruitment and professional placement of students.
  • At the local community, regional, national or international levels –specifically the contribution of professional expertise and talents to support the community outreach mission of Adelphi.
  • At the level of the discipline or profession -- including serving as an officer or committee member for professional or discipline-based organizations.

The nature of the service must go beyond those obligations generally considered part of the basic professional service necessary for faculty advancement at the University.  There must be evidence of leadership or extraordinary achievement in the venues in which service is carried out.  Service must extend over multiple years and involve the substantial commitment of time and effort.  Nominees should have demonstrated initiative and outstanding performance in meeting these criteria.  Service should be exceptional and transformative, having had a significant positive impact on the University and/or external community.

Application Process
Faculty candidates will be nominated by administrators, faculty, or students at Adelphi.

The "Call for Nominations" will be announced via email, campus media, and TV monitors.

To nominate a faculty member, a nominator must write a letter of recommendation.  The letter should be signed by at least four other qualified individuals (faculty, students, and administrators) in support of the nomination. The letter of recommendation should describe and include examples of the scope and value/impact of the nominee’s service. Email submissions are accepted.  However, separate emails must be sent in support of the nomination. All emails should be sent to Sharon Faranda at faranda@adelphi.edu.

A committee of six faculty, two students, and one administrator, appointed by the Provost, will receive and review the nominations.  Committee service will be for terms of three years (to be staggered).  Award recipients will serve on the committee for three years immediately following the Service Award.

The committee will notify faculty nominees of their nomination.  The nominee will be required to submit (1) a current curriculum vitae, (2) a statement describing the scope of his/her service and particular achievements, identifying service  for which release time and/or stipend was awarded, (3) any available documentation, such as copies of letters of citation and merit for particular service accomplishments.  In addition, two letters of recommendation (to be requested by the nominee from colleagues, administrators, or students) must be transmitted directly to the Committee for inclusion in the nomination file.  At least one of these must be from a member of the Adelphi community.

The deadline for nominations is February 26, 2010.  The Committee will notify faculty that they have been nominated for the Excellence in Faculty Service AwardOnce notified, faculty nominees have until March 26, 2010 to forward supporting material to the Committee.

Awards will be announced at the last Faculty Meeting of the academic year.

Nominations and supporting material should be submitted to the Excellence in Faculty Service Award Committee, c/o the Office of the Provost.


Judith Baumel

Robert Otto

Stephen Z.Goldberg


^ Back to Top of Page